LibGuides: Adventist Heritage Resources: Periodicals

Periodicals

Periodicals include newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, tracts, magazines, and scholarly journals. See the links below for Adventist periodicals in all of these formats. Most are available to read online. If, however, you find a citation for an article you'd like to read but cannot find, let your librarian know. We have many of these publications in the library in paper form.

EXPERT TIP: The SDAPI (see below) is the best way to discover what articles exist that cover your topic. It can be tricky to use the first time, but if you have two minutes to spare, a librarian can quickly show you how the search works.

Magazines, Pamphlets, Tracts, and Newsletters

Adventist Today Magazine, 1993-present
Adventist Today (AT) is an independent journalism ministry serving the global Adventist community and readers interested in a reliable source of information about the Adventist faith and institutions. AT is not subsidized or controlled by the Seventh-day Adventist denomination or any other religious group. Explore back issues here.
GC Archives - Adventist Periodicals
This site has the most comprehensive online access to full text of Adventist magazines, newsletters, etc. available today. Use this site to keyword search, for example, the Pacific Union Recorder or to pull up exact articles you found cited when you searched the SDAPI (see link on this page).
GC Archives - Millerite Periodicals
Here you can read publications from believers who followed William Miller. Some of these Millerites would later become Seventh-day Adventists, while others lost their faith after the Great Disappointment.
GC Archives - Tracts
There are over 50 tracts (small pamphlets) digitized here, all published by Adventists in the 1880s and 1890s. Topics discussed in the tracts include: religion in public schools, the Sunday Law, government interference in religious practice, prophecy, mission work, or the question of war and combat.
SDA Periodical Index or Obituary Index (SDAPI)
Use this "index" called the SDAPI to find articles in Adventist periodicals that discuss your topic. This is the best way to keyword search the most Adventist publications all at once. Most results will not have full text articles attached. You will need to visit the GC Archives - Periodicals page to look up your article once you know it exists. If in doubt, ask your librarian for assistance.
Spectrum Magazine, 1969-2018
Spectrum is an unofficial news source not supported by the Adventist Church. For this reason, Spectrum often publishes controversial or thought-provoking material that official church publications avoid. From this page you can keyword search the SDAPI for specific Spectrum articles that cover your topic. However, to access the full text of the magazine, you must click the button on the righthand side of this page that says "Access Spectrum by Issue: Search." Then you can navigate issue by issue.

Scholarly Journals

GC Archives - Scholarly Journals
The GC Archives provide online archives of the following scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Keyword search these journals for academic takes on doctrine and other Adventist concerns.
Adventist Heritage
Andrews University Seminary Studies
Journal of Asia Adventist Seminary
Journal of Pacific Adventist History