LibGuides: Adventist Heritage Resources: Archives

Archives

Archival material is important to include in any history-based research paper. Archives are an excellent source for primary source documents that help you explain and contextualize the past. These collections often include diaries, letters, images, sound recordings, historic documents, interviews, and more.

EXPERT TIP: If you are not sure where to begin, visit the Adventist Digital Library and browse through the primary source archival documents they offer grouped by eras in Adventist history. And don't forget to contact your librarian for personalized support at any time!

Adventist Digital Library
I recommend the Adventist Digital Library as your first research stop. This site can be keyword searched from the homepage or browsed by historical era. You will find photographs, letters, diaries, historic books, pamphlets, charts, and more.
Center for Adventist Research - Madison Schools
The Center for Adventist Research at Andrews University has digitized their collection of photographs, periodicals, books, and correspondence about the Adventist schools in Madison, TN. Researchers writing about the history of SDA education will find these primary sources useful.
Center for Adventist Research - Photo Archive
Photographs available here show people and buildings important to Adventist history. A collection of 25 prophetic charts is included, for those who are researching Adventist evangelism, the understanding of prophecy, or tent revivals.
E.G. White Estate Photographs
These digitized photographs of Ellen White include individual and family portraits, images from campmeetings and speeches, and other scenes from Ellen White's life.
General Conference Archives - Church Division Minutes
Using the search box in the top right corner of this digital archive, you can keyword search the meeting minutes of church divisions around the world. Clicking the name of a church division will allow you to keyword search the minutes of that committee alone.
Loma Linda University Digital Archives
LLU's archival collections are vast. They cover many topics from Millerite periodicals to Battle Creek College documents to Sanitarium menus of years past.
PUC Archives Online
A few collections at the PUC Archives are available online. Here you can keyword search the Campus Chronicle from 1924 to the present, letters about PUC and Healdsburg College written by alumni, scrapbooks from the 1950s, and more. If you are researching any aspect of the history of PUC, take a look here.