Stanley S. Slotkin Printed Book Leaves Collection: Home

Stanley S. Slotkin Printed Book Leaves Collection
A finding aid for the Stanley S. Slotkin Printed Book Leaves Collection

Repository: Pacific Union College
Nelson Memorial Library
One Angwin Avenue
Angwin, CA 94508

Creator: Slotkin, Stanley S., 1905-1997
Title: Stanley S. Slotkin Printed Book Leaves Collection
Dates: original materials, 1207 AD - 1769; accompanying materials 1969-1971
Extent: 68 broadsides; 66x51 cm (64 of 68), 35x21 cm (4 of 68)
Abstract: Stanley S. Slotkin was a successful Los Angeles businessman who owned the medical and party supply rental company Abbey Rents. He was also an avid collector of antique bibles and other rare books. He collected hundreds of thousands of books that he donated to various museums, universities, and libraries across the United States. In the 1960s, Slotkin began to donate individual leaves from books to institutions rather than whole works, as he felt intact books were too often locked away where they could not be seen. This collection consists of 54 of these individual leaves donated by Slotkin, which he removed from texts previously housed in the Biblical Library of Abbey Rents or the Antiquarian Library of Mark Slotkin (Stanley's only son). Each leaf is mounted onto or enclosed with a sheet of paper that includes a facsimile of the cover page of the work the leaf was originally from.
Collection number: PUC.MSS.058
Language: Latin, Greek, Persian, Arabic, French, English, German, Turkish, Hebrew, Chaldean, Dutch, Hindi.

Biographical Note
Stanley S. Slotkin was a successful Los Angeles businessman who owned the medical and party supply rental company Abbey Rents. He was also an avid collector of antique bibles and other rare books, amassing hundreds of thousands of books which he also regularly donated to various museums, universities, churches, and libraries across the United States. In the 1960s, Slotkin began to donate individual leaves from books to institutions rather than whole works, as he felt intact books were too often locked away where they could not be seen. He dismembered a number of books, and donated sets of pages to any institution that would agree to display them publicly. During the 1970s, his son Mark joined him in this practice. Stanley Slotkin was also heavily interested in archaeology, cosmetic medicine, and recreational diving and contributed philanthropically to a number of causes throughout his life.

Scope and Contents
This collection contains 54 individual leaves donated by Stanley S. and Mark Slotkin, which they removed from various religious texts. Each leaf is mounted onto a sheet of paper which also includes a facsimile of the cover page of the work the leaf was originally from.

Restrictions
There are no access restrictions for this collection.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information
Slotkin probably sent these leaves unsolicited to the PUC library in the 1960s and 1970s. Four form letters accompanied the packages, which provides some background information about the gifts.

Processing Information
Collection processed by Katharine Van Arsdale, October 2016. Finding Aid prepared by Katharine Van Arsdale, October 2016.

Related Material
None.

Index Terms
This collection is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms.

Persons
Slotkin, Stanley S., 1905-1997

Inventory

Flat File Drawer 3
All leaves are affixed to matching background sheets with facsimile title pages unless otherwise noted. Printing location and date included when available.
One folder, Form letters and newspaper articles about Stanley S. Slotkin.
1. Leaf from Antiphonale book of Catholic music in Latin (1690).
2. Leaf from Bible commentary in Latin (1734).
3. Leaf from Bible in Dutch (1624).
4. Leaf from Bible in English. Two pages-Proverbs and Psalms-unconfirmed if both belong with the bibliographic information (Edinburgh, 1715).
5. Leaf from Bible in Latin with Hebrew, Chaldean, and Greek indexes (Antwerp, 1534).
6. Leaf from Biblical lexicon including Hebrew, Chaldean, and Latin text (Avignon, 1665).
7. Leaf from Breeches Bible in English, large page (Geneva, 1594).
8. Leaf from Breeches Bible in English, small page (Geneva, 1594).
9. Leaf from Catholic Church historical text Ecclesiastici ex XII. Tomis Caesaris Baronii in Latin (France, 1640).
10. Leaf from Catholic Church text Manuductio ad Excitatorem Christianum in Latin (1714).
11. Leaf from Encyclopedie, ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Metiers from the Austrian royal library, in French (Paris, 1705).
12. Leaf from English law book A Table of all the Publick and Private Statues, from the Beginning of the Reign of King George the Second to the present Year 1734 in English (England, 1734).
13. Leaf from Favius Joseph's history in German (translation from Latin) (1670-1726).
14. Leaf from Frederick Hoffman's Medicinae Rationalis Systematicae in Latin (Geneva, 1738).
15. Leaf from French Protestant Bible in French (Lyons, 1535).
16. Leaf from German medical text in Latin (Nuremberg, 1695).
17. Leaf from Greek book of religious works with Latin interpretations (1610). Note: see reverse of leaf for marginalia in Greek and underlined passages.
18. Leaf from Hindu religious text in Persian, Arabic, and Turkish (unknown). SAME PAGE
19. Leaf from Bible with Old & New Testaments, Mythologia, and works of Josephus in Latin (Frankfurt, 1550).
20. Leaf from illuminated Koran/Quran handwritten over 22 years, completed on March 22, 1207. Written in Persian and Arabic (probably Iran, 1207).
21. Leaf from legal text in Latin (Frankfurt & Leipzig, 1678).
22. Leaf from Martin Luther Bible in German (1574).
23. Leaf from Martin Luther Bible in German (1693).
24. Leaf from Masorae in Hebrew with Latin explanation (1665).
25. Leaf from Massorah Rabbinical Bible in Hebrew (1610).
26. Leaf from medical text by Michael Ettmueller in Latin (1660).
27. Leaf from military book in Latin and Greek (Antwerp, 1637).
28. Leaf from natural history text by C. Plinius in Latin (1563).
29. Leaf from Old Testament in Hebrew, Greek, Chaldean, and Latin (c. 1750).
30. Leaf from religious history text in Latin (1769).
31. Leaf from religious text Biblie iampridem reno in Latin (1496).
32. Leaf from religious text in German (Augsburg & Innsbruck, 1768).
33. Leaf from religious text in Hindi. Two pages (1690).
34. Leaf from religious text in Latin and Greek (1657).
35. Leaf from religious text previously owned by a convent, in German (1764).
36. Leaf from religious text Spicilegium Catechetico-concionatorium in Latin (Augsburg and Innsbruck, 1750).
37. Leaf from text by Doctor Scoti and printed by Matthiae Wolff (1735).
38. Leaf from text by Laurentius Berti in Latin (Italy, 1769).
39. Leaf from text by Ludovici Sinistrari in Latin (Rome, 1693).
40. Leaf from text by Thomas Aquinas in Latin (Antwerp, 1695).
41. Leaf from The Doctrine of the Gospel printed by Thomas Creede in English (London, 1606).
42. Leaf from The works of the Reverend and Learned John Lightfoot D.D. in English (London, 1684).
43. Leaf from Theologia Christiana in Latin (1763).
44. Leaf from theology text by H. Tournely in Latin (Cologne, Germany, 1752).
45. Leaf from theology text Theologia Dogmatica et Moralis in Latin (Paris, 1703).
46. Leaf from Torah in Hebrew (Basel, Switzerland, 5373 Jewish Calendar or 1616 AD).
47. Leaf from Vulgate Bible in Latin (1737).
48. Leaf from Vulgate Bible in Latin and German (1671).
49. Unidentified, six background sheets with facsimile title pages.
50. Unidentified, six book leaves stapled together with assembly instructions.
51. Leaf from Commentarium Literale in Omnes ac Singulos tum Veteris Testamenti Libros in Latin (1734).
52. Leaf from Spicilegium Catechetico in Latin (Augsburg & Innsbruck, Austria, 1750).
53. Leaf from The Holy Bible in English (Philadelphia, 1796).
54. Leaf from Francisci Sylvij a Brania Comitis... Commentarij in Tertiam Partem S. Tho. Aquinatis in Latin (Antwerp, 1695).
55. Leaf from Biblia Sacra Vulgatæ in Latin, German, and Syriac (1671). Page is damaged with oil spots.
56. Leaf from Missale Romanum in Latin (1677).
57. Page from a German religious work (1764).
58. Leaf from a medical text in Latin by Frederick Hoffman (Geneva, 1748).
59. Leaf from a medical text in Latin by Michael Ettmueller (1660).
60. Leaf from a religious text in Greek and Latin (1657).
61. Leaf from The Works of the Reverend and Learned John Lightfoot D.D. in English (London, 1684).
62. Leaf from Honorati Tournely, a text on Biblical theology in Latin (Cologne, Germany, 1752).