For your Intercultural Communication Term Project, you need to collect and get to know at least ten references, including:
You must cite your sources in APA style.
This page provides quick links to library resources that contain peer reviewed and published sources that are appropriate to your work. Explore the databases (searchable collections of credible sources, often arranged by topic) linked here. If you get stuck, or if you would like specific search suggestions based on your topic, email your librarian for personalized research support.
To find scholarly articles, start your search with Discovery, which is like Google for the library. It searches over 80% of everything the library has. Use the tools on the lefthand side of the results page to filter your results to only show you peer reviewed, scholarly articles.
Keyword tips: Use only two or three search terms at a time. When you find a useful source, look at the subject terms assigned to it. Use those subject terms as new keywords to turn up related, relevant articles.
View this video for a demonstration of Discovery. I show you how to filter your search, find the link to full text (should always be on the lefthand side of the page), and autogenerate an APA style citation.
This video teaches you how to filter Discovery search results to find only ebooks. I also show you how to open the full text of the book, jump from chapter to chapter, keyword search the book, and more.
Watch the video below to see how to filter Newspaper Source results to get the newest articles first. I also demonstrate how the tools for opening full text and citing are available in this database just like they are in Discovery.
Watch the video below to learn how to find a newspaper article in Gale in Context, a database that is formatted differently than Discovery. I show you that the same tools you always need are available: full text, citation generator, download, etc. I also use a keyword found in my news article to start a new search, which leads me to more news articles, infographics, statistics, and magazines all within Gale in Context. The moral of the story: bravely click around once you start searching. Who knows what you will find?
