LibGuides: Resources for PLSC 330: Modern Comparative Government: Home

Welcome

Welcome!

This guide is for students who are researching and writing country profiles or research papers for PLSC 330: Modern Comparative Government.

How to Use this Guide

Visit the sources shared here as a solid starting place for your research. Every link I've given you will lead to credible sources that are appropriate for your class. These links also lead to full-text material that is fully accessible online, or can be requested in full by contacting your librarian to complete the process. You can email reference@puc.edu anytime for help or visit library.puc.edu to chat with a librarian during the day.

Note: All images used in this guide are under a Creative Commons license. Always remember to check the copyright status of images you use for school or work.

News Sources

These news sources are available free through the PUC Library or online. News Databases allow you to search by keyword for full-text articles from or about your country of interest. You can also search for individual news titles available through the library, such as the Washington Post, and browse recent issues. Occasionally, online news outlets allow you to read articles before asking for a subscription; some of these are recommended below.

News Databases

All Sides This link opens in a new window
We expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. We display the day’s top news stories from the Left, Center and Right of the political spectrum — side-by-side so you can see the full picture.
https://www.allsides.com/about
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers, selective full text for 400 regional newspapers.
Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Real-time access to world-wide news reports from Associated Press, United Press, CNN, and more.
An index to the content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.
The New York Times (via Gale Database) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times daily newspaper from 1985 to current. You can browse daily editions or search for content within the publication.

Individual Title Search

Publication Finder (Journals A-Z Listing) This link opens in a new window
Complete list of online and print journals available through the PUC library.

AfricaNews
Africanews covers sub-African and international news and business stories 24/7 in French and English languages from an African perspective.
Al Jazeera
Al Jazeera is an independent news organization funded in part by the Qatari government. They provide English-language news of the world.
The Associated Press (news aggregator)
The AP was founded 170 years ago as an independent news cooperative, whose members are U.S. newspapers and broadcasters, steadfast in a mission to inform the world.
CBC News
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides global news coverage funded by the Canadian government.
Reuters (news aggregator)
Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest multimedia news provider, reaching billions of people worldwide every day. Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.
Time of India
The Times of India is an Indian English-language daily newspaper and digital news media owned and managed by The Times Group. It is the third-largest newspaper in India by circulation and largest selling English-language daily in the world.

Facts by Country

These trusted sources draw on reliable facts and statistics to generate multi-faceted reports by country. Read these reports to provide background and contextualization for recent news articles and events.

Profiles by Agency

BBC News Country Profiles
BBC Country Profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
Select a country, territory or international organization from the drop down menus to access a profile.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. It is one of the U.S. Government’s most accessed publications.
Search alphabetically by country name for your profile of choice.
Library of Congress Research Division Profiles
This series of country profiles is part of the broader LOC Country Studies collection. The profiles offer brief summaries of a country’s history, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
These profiles were last updated about 10-15 years ago; they provide a good summary of a country's historical trajectory.
United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. The UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
Visit this site to access UN reports alphabetically by country.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic: The Online Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes multi-media content, ebooks, primary sources, news, statistics, maps, and general biographies.
Includes full content from Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject.
25,000 records.

Citing Sources in Turabian

What is Turabian Style?

Based on Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Turabian citation style presents two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (previously called parenthetical citations–reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style with slight modifications for the needs of student writers. The examples here will get you started, but do not rely on these examples for formatting such as indents. It is always a good idea to double-check the style guide or official online resources such as listed below.

Turabian Citation Quick Guide: https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/citation-guide.html

Notes/Bibliography style is used widely in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in footnotes or endnotes and, usually, a bibliography.

Material	Note	Bibliographic Entry
Books in print	1. Wendy Doniger, Splitting the Difference (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999), 65.	Doniger, Wendy. Splitting the Difference. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999.
An article in a print journal	8. John Maynard Smith, “The Origin of Altruism,” Nature 393 (1998): 639.	Smith, John Maynard. “The Origin of Altruism.” Nature 393 (1998): 639–40.
An article in an electronic journal	33. Campbell Brown. "Consequentialize This," Ethics 121, no. 4 (July 2011): 751, http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/660696.	Brown, Campbell. "Consequentialize This." Ethics 121, no. 4 (July 2011): 749-71. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/660696.
A website	11. "Privacy Policy,” Privacy & Terms, Google, last modified April 17, 2017, https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.	Google. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.

Author-date style has long been used in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in parentheses in the text by author’s last name and date of publication. The parenthetical citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Material	Parenthetical Citation	Reference List
Books in print	(Doniger 1999, 65)	Doniger, Wendy. 1999. Splitting the Difference. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
An article in a print journal	(Smith 1998, 639)	Smith, John Maynard. 1998. "The Origin of Altruism." Nature 393: 639–40.
An article in an electronic journal	(Kiser 2011, 340)	Kiser, Lisa J. 2011. "Silencing the Lambs: Economics, Ethics, and Animal Life in Medieval Franciscan Hagiography." Modern Philology 108, no. 3 (February): 323-42. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/658052.
A website	(Google 2017)	Google. 2017. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.

(Sources: Turabian Guide website; A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations, 9th ed.)