Postcard Collection Inventory: Home

Postcard Collection
An inventory for the Postcard Collection

Repository: Pacific Union College
Nelson Memorial Library
One Angwin Avenue
Angwin, CA 94508

Creator: Various
Title: Postcard Collection
Dates: 1880s-2000s
Extent: 0.5 linear feet; 1 archives (Hollinger) box
Abstract: The collection contains a variety of postcards featuring primarily places of interest to Adventist History such as schools, sanitariums, and publishing houses. Some local Napa Valley postcards are not-SDA related. Some of the postcards may have been collected by Gary Shearer, based on his handwriting on the backs of some. Others were gifted or collected by unknown persons. The collection is quite eclectic, spanning a period from the 1880s (including postcards from Angwin's Resort and the Rural Health Retreat) to the 2000s (particularly PUC). Some cards are photographs printed on postcard paper. Some were actually sent through the mail and contain stamps and interesting verso information. The total number of postcards in the collection is currently unknown.
Collection number: PUC.MSS.055
Language: English, French, Spanish

Biographical Note
N/A

Scope and Contents
This collection contains postcards featuring mostly SDA institutions and places of historical interest. The cards (as yet uncounted) are housed in envelopes by subject. Each envelope contains a variety of cards on that subject, and almost all cards are unique designs.

Restrictions
There are no access restrictions for this collection.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information
Given to Gary Shearer by V. Kenneth Juler (class of 1950) on January 9, 2006.

Processing Information
Processed by Rachel Bell, May 2016. Inventory by Katharine Van Arsdale and Rachel Bell, May 2016.

Inventory List

Folders by subject
Large envelopes
Adventist History, People and Places
Andrews University (Berrien Springs, MI)
Loma Linda University (Loma Linda, CA)
Montemorelos University (Mexico)
Napa Valley and local sites
Pacific Union College
Review & Herald Publishing (Hagerstown, MD)
St. Helena Hospital

Small envelopes
Atlantic Union College, Lancaster, MA
Battle Creek Sanitarium
La Sierra College
Loma Linda Foods, Postum Cereal Co., W.K. Kellogg Plant
Loma Linda Sanitarium
Long Beach Sanitarium
Lodi Academy, Newbury Academy, Rio Lindo Academy, Lynwood Academy, Laurelwood Academy
Paradise Valley manor National City, CA
R&H Pub. Assn., Southern Pub. Assn, P.P. Pub. Assn.
Riverside Sanitarium, Tenn., Madison Sanitarium, TENN, Boulder Hospital, Colorado, Porter Sanitarium & Hospital
SDA Camp Ground Santa Cruz, California
SDA Danish Norwegian Seminary, Hutchinson, Minn.
Semi Valley Adventist Hospital, Walla Walla Sanit. & Hospital, Nebraska Sanitarium, New England Sanitarium, Florida Sanitarium & Hospital
Southern California Conf. Building
Union College, Neb., Columbia College, WA. D.C., Madison College, Tenn.
Ventura Estates
View from St. Helena Sanitarium, CA., Monument Valley Mission & Hospital, Utah, View at Hinsdale Sanitarium, Ill., Hultafors Sanatorium
Voice of Prophecy Bldg. Glendale, CA.
Washington Sanitarium, Takoma Park, D.C.