Orville R Thompson Collection: Home

Orville R. Thompson Collection
A finding aid for the Orville R. Thompson Collection

Repository: Pacific Union College
Nelson Memorial Library
One Angwin Avenue
Angwin, CA 94508

Creator: unknown; Orville R. Thompson
Title: Orville R. Thompson Collection
Dates: 100 A.D. to 1453 A.D.
Extent: 2 linear feet; 1 flat cardboard box and a plastic Rubbermaid tote.
Abstract: This collection contains 18 glass bottles from the Roman, late Roman, and Byzantine periods. Orville R. Thompson, a local doctor, collected the bottles and donated them to PUC.
Collection number: PUC.ART.048
Language: n/a

Biographical Note
Orville R. Thompson attended Loma Linda University Medical School and graduated in 1951. After a residency in Takoma Park, MD, he practiced Obstetrics and Gynecology at Loma Linda and Glendale from 1956 to 1964. From 1964 to 1974, Thompson practiced medicine at the St. Helena Hospital. In the 1980s and 1990s he lived in St. Helena and Calistoga. Thompson died in Oregon on July 7, 2002.

Scope and Contents
This collection contains 18 glass bottles from the Roman, late Roman, and Byzantine periods. The bottles vary in size and shape. All are made of green glass with varying degrees of iridescent patina. One box in which the bottles arrived reads "Palestinian, Israel, Lebanon, Jarash." The bottles have been individually described and appraised. The appraisal document is in the accession file and a copy is appended to this finding aid. NOTE: Bottles #5 and #10 were apparently gifted to Montemorelos University in Mexico (see Gary Shearer record in accession file) and #6 is BROKEN (condition as of 8/27/15).

Restrictions
White gloves are required for handling the glass, to avoid iridescent patina flaking, which damages the artifacts. There are no other access restrictions.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Orville R. Thompson gifted the collection to the PUC library, probably in the 1980s. Gary Shearer accepted the donation.

Processing Information: Finding aid created by Katy Van Arsdale, August 2015.

Arrangement
Box 1 contains bottles 1-4, 7-9, and 11-13
Box 2 contains bottles 6 and 14-18

Container List
#1 Tear bottle with pear-shaped base (Byzantine period).
#2 Tear bottle with hemispheric base (late Roman period). Delicate patina.
#3 Tear bottle with flat base (late Roman period?). Strong patina.
#4 Tear bottle with simple bulb body (Roman period). Strong patina.
#5 MONTEMORELOS Tear bottle with short neck and pear-shaped base (Roman period).
#6 BROKEN Tear bottle with pear-shaped base (Roman period). Colorful patina. Previously mended.
#7 Tear bottle with pear-shaped base (late Roman period). Colored patina.
#8 Long tear bottle with bulb base (Roman period). Fractured top. Good color patina.
#9 Fragile bowl phial (?) with round body (Roman period). Broken top. Unusual coloring.
#10 MONTEMORELOS Tear bottle with bulb base (Roman period).
#11 Tear bottle with bulb base (Roman period). Perfect condition.
#12 Long tear bottle with flaring body and dished base (late Roman period).
#13 Tear bottle with bulb body and omphalos base (late Roman period). Excellent coloring. Perfect condition.
#14 Long aqua tear bottle with bulb body (Roman period). Perfect condition.
#15 Small tear bottle with bulb body (late Roman period).
#16 Small bottle with doughnut base (late Roman or Byzantine period).
#17 Medium bottle with flattened pear-shaped body (Byzantine period).
#18 Large bottle with spherical body (Byzantine period). Broken mouth.